Bulgaria is situated in south-eastern Europe. It occupies the central part of Balkan peninsula on both sides of the Balkan Range (the Balkans), from which the peninsula has taken its name. The greater part of the northern border with Romania passes along the Danube, and the eastern border is the Black Sea. The land borders with Serbia and Northern Macedonia to the west, with Turkey to the south-east, and with Greece to the south. Bulgaria joined the EU in 2007. Since then there is a continuous growth of the local economy empowered by the generous investment incentives provided by the government.